Kurt Busch wins the NASCAR Daytona 500

By CJ Wittman

February 26th, 2017, the 59th Daytona 500 took place in Daytona Beach, Florida. Forty of the best NASCAR drivers zoomed away as the green flag swirled. Dale Earnhardt was favored to win, followed by Brad keselowski, and Joey Logano. The 500 is always a toss up, and known for being one of the most exciting races in NASCAR. Many drivers and fans were skeptical of the new rule changes, which includes breaking up the race into sections, new bonus points during the regular season, and the 5-minute repair rule.  

Of the 200 laps, the race was filled with many crashes, including a 16 car pile up. As the race went on, there were many lead changes and crashes, but only one winner came out on top. On the last last lap, Kurt Busch, who took repairs to the body of his car, passed Kyle Larson to take the lead, and won his first ever Monster Energy NASCAR Daytona 500. Busch was the runner up two times previously, but this was his first victory.
The new rule changes aimed at making the race more exciting is still being judged by fans, racers, and NASCAR. Busch and his team enjoyed the win in victory lane, but will be preparing for Richmond International Raceway, which takes place 4/30/17.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s